Hello and welcome everyone! I’m Phoebe Jordan also known as The Voice of Romance here on Romance Writers United, but you probably already know that but for those of you who are just tuning in this is my very, very late November column. This is my ...

Your email updates, powered by FeedBlitz

 
Here are the FeedBlitz email updates for you. Click here to start your FREE subscription



The Voice of Romance - 4 new articles

November 2008 Issue # 4

Hello and welcome everyone!

 
I’m Phoebe Jordan also known as The Voice of Romance here on Romance Writers United, but you probably already know that but for those of you who are just tuning in this is my very, very late November column. This is my fourth column for RWU and I have to say that I have been having a hard time trying to write up this column because I’ve been very busy with midterms since I’m a 19-year-old full-time college student working towards her BA in English. I’m a bit more secure about writing this column now and I am enjoying every time I sit down at my laptop and think about all the novels I’ve read lately and trying to pick the ones that I should mention in this column. Well unfortunately this month none of the RWU member authors both published and unpublished have posted any current, upcoming or work-in-progress information. So for this month I will have time to discuss some of awesome new authors and books that I’ve recently discovered this month.

Well I’ve been very curious about this Young Adult series that I felt had romance elements in it called Twilight. I’m sure that if you haven’t read this series then you must have heard about it because there are large amounts of fans who have Twilight mania going on for the past couple of months since the movie was announce to come out at the end of 2008. It comes out on November 21st instead of the original date of December 21st. I’m glad that it was coming out a whole month earlier than expected because after reading all four books in the Twilight series I really was excited about seeing it come to life in a movie. I won’t say I’m a Twilight fan after reading the books but I did enjoy reading all the books even though I’ve heard gossip and rumors that some people thought they sucked or that it was terrible especially the last book which got a lot of controversy reviews because of some event in the book that got people angry.

I’m not much for reading Young Adult even though right now I’m 19 and that is the type of book that should be my reading material but it wasn’t when I was younger and there are only special exceptions that I have read Young Adult like the Harry Potter series and now the Twilight series. I’ve reviewed all four novels on my blog Talk About My Favorite Authors if you want to check it out and I’ve written about my likes and dislikes about each book because they aren’t perfect but they aren’t horrible novels. Also Stephenie Meyer is working on her fourth Twilight book called Midnight Sun which is Edward Cullen’s point of view of the book Twilight and one that had been leaked to the media before Breaking Dawn came out. I’m not sure I would buy and read that book but it would be interesting to see if she actually gets it done and published even though she said that it was indefinitely on hold.

Happy Reading!
~ Phoebe

Twilight
Copyright © 2005 by Stephenie Meyer
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Blurb:


About three things I was absolutely positive:

First, Edward was a vampire.

Second, there was a part of him—and I didn’t know how dominant that part might be–that thirsted for my blood.

And third, I was unconditionally and irrevocably in love with him.

“I’D NEVER GIVEN MUCH THOUGHT TO HOW I WOULD DIE—I’d had reason enough in the last few months—but even if I had, I would not have imagined it like this.... Surely it was a good way to die, in the place of something else, someone I loved. Noble even. That ought to count for something.”

When Isabella Swan moves to the gloomy town of Forks and meets the mysterious, alluring Edward Cullen, her life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn. With his porcelain skin, golden eyes, mesmerizing voice, and supernatural gifts, Edward is both irresistible and impenetrable. Up until now, he has managed to keep his true identity hidden, but Bella is determined to uncover his dark secret. What Bella doesn’t realize is the closer she gets to him, the more she is putting herself and those around her at risk. And, it might be too late to turn back....

* * *

New Moon
Copyright © 2006 by Stephenie Meyer
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Blurb:

I knew we were both in mortal danger. Still, in that instant, I felt well. Whole. I could feel my heart racing in my chest, the blood pulsing hot and fast through my veins again. My lungs filled deep with the sweet scent that came off his skin. It was like there had never been a hole in my chest. I was perfect—not healed, but as if there had never been a wound in the first place.

I FELT LIKE I WAS TRAPPED IN ON OF THOSE TERRIFYING NIGHMARES, the one where you have to run, run till your lungs burst, but you can’t make your body move fast enough…. But this was no dream, and, unlike the nightmare, I wasn’t running for my life; I was racing to save something infinitely more precious. My own life meant little to me today.

FOR BELLA SWAN, THERE IS ONE THING more important than life itself: Edward Cullen. But being in love with a vampire is even more dangerous than Bella ever could have imagined. Edward has already rescued Bella from the clutches of one evil vampire, but now, as their daring relationship threatens all that is near and dear to them, they realize their troubles may be just beginning….

* * *

Eclipse
Copyright © 2007 by Stephenie Meyer
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Blurb:

In the dead silence, all the details suddenly fell into place for me with a burst of intuition. Something Edward didn’t want me to know. Something that Jacob wouldn’t have kept from me. Something that had the Cullens and the wolves both in the woods moving in hazardous proximity to each other…. Something I’d been waiting for anyway. Something I knew would happen again, as much as I might wish it never would. It was never going to end, was it?

“BELLA?” Edward’s soft voice came from behind me. I turned to see him spring lightly up the porch steps, his hair windblown from running. He pulled me into his arms at once, just like he had in the parking lot, and kissed me again. This kiss frightened me. There was too much tension, too strong an edge to the way his lips crushed mine—like he was afraid we had only so much time left to us.

AS SEATTLE IS RAVAGED BY A STRING OF mysterious killings and a malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge, Bella once again finds herself surrounded by danger. In the midst of it all, she is forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob—knowing that her decision has the potential to ignite the ageless struggle between vampire and werewolf. With her graduation quickly approaching, Bella has one more decision to make: life or death. But which is which?
* * *

Breaking Dawn
Copyright © 2008 by Stephenie Meyer
Published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Blurb:


“Don’t be afraid,” I murmured. “We belong together.”

I was overwhelmed by the truth of my own words. This moment was so perfect, so right, there was no way to doubt it. His arms wrapped around me, holding me against him….

If felt like every nerve ending in my body was a live wire. “Forever,” he agreed.

WHEN YOU LOVED THE ONE WHO WAS KILLING YOU, IT LEFT YOU NO OPTIONS. How could you run, how could you fight, when doing so would hurt that beloved one? If your life was all you had to give, how could you not give it? If it was someone you truly loved?

TO BE IRREVOCABLY IN LOVE WITH A VAMPIRE is both fantasy and nightmare woven into a dangerously heightened reality for Bella Swan. Pulled in one direction by her intense passion for Edward Cullen, and in another by her profound connection to a werewolf Jacob Black, she has endured a tumultuous year of temptation, loss, and strife to reach the ultimate turning point. Her imminent choice to either join the dark but seductive world of immortals or pursue a fully human life has become the thread from which the fate of two tribes hangs.

NOW THAT BELLA HAS MADE HER DECISION, a startling chain of unprecedented events is about to unfold with potentially devastating and unfathomable consequences. Just when the frayed strands of Bella’s life—first discovered in Twilight, then scattered and torn in New Moon and Eclipse—seem ready to heal and knit together, could they be destroyed…forever?
* * *
Now for current releases that I’ve bought and have on the top of my To Be Read pile. The first one I will be talking about is Nora Robert/J.D. Robb’s newest In Death book which would be her 27th in the series that has been going on since 1995. This is one of my favorite series because it is a romantic suspense series set in the future of NYC in the year 2058 to 2060 so far and it only gets better with each book that comes out because the characters just get more intense and you learn new things about them with each book. I’m very exciting about reading this novel and I recommend this series to everyone especially if you are new to romance or just new to Nora Roberts and her J.D. Robb books. This is a must have series in my opinion because it has everything you should be looking for in a romance novel especially in a series and it also has 27 books which means if you start now you still have plenty of reading to go before you have caught up to the recent release.

The second current release that I’ve bought and have on the top of my TBR pile is by another of my favorite authors Dorothy Garlock. I stumbled upon her books at Barnes and Noble and I’m always grateful about it because she is one amazing author. This is her current release that I’ve been looking forward to all year and the cover is amazing to look at. Dorothy writes mostly about the 1920s, 1930s and 1940s in the United States and those are some of the most fascinating time periods that I’ve heard and read about. This is set in current times but it still has me very excited about reading it because she also writes amazing books in this time period too. Okay I’ve rambled enough about what I think about the books let’s get to what the books are about so here they are.

Current releases by NYT best-selling romance authors:


Salvation in Death
Copyright © 2008 by J.D. Robb/Nora Roberts
Published by Penguin Group USA

Blurb:

In the year 2060, cutting-edge investigative tools can help catch a killer. But there are some questions even the most advanced technologies cannot answer….

At the most solemn moment of a Catholic funeral Mass, the priest brings the chalice to his lips. Seconds later, he is dead on the altar. For the mourners packed into the pews, Father Miguel Flores’s sudden demise is an unimaginable shock. When Detective Lieutenant Eve Dallas confirms that the consecrated wine contained enough potassium cyanide to kill a rhino, she’s prepared to plunge in and find out why, despite her discomfort with her surroundings. It’s not the bodegas and pawnshops of East Harlem that bother her, though the neighborhood is a long way from the stone mansion she shares with her billionaire husband, Roarke. It’s all that holiness flying around at St. Cristobal’s that makes her uneasy.

A search of the victim’s simple, sparsely furnished room reveals few personal touches, except for the carefully hidden religious medal with a mysterious inscription, and a couple of underlined Bible passages. The autopsy reveals much more: faint scars of knife wounds, a removed tattoo—and evidence of plastic surgery suggesting “Father Flores” may not have been the man his parishioners thought. Now, as Eve pieces together clues that suggest identity theft, gang connections, and a deeply personal act of revenge, she hopes to track down whoever committed this unholy act. Until a second murder—in front of an even larger crowd of worshippers—knocks the whole investigation sideways. The way Eve sees it, vengeance may be the Lord’s business, but if there’s going to be any earthly justice in this case, it’s up to her.

* * *

Leaving Whiskey Bend
Copyright © 2008 by Dorothy Garlock
Published by Grand Central Publishing

Blurb:



Schoolteacher Hallie Wolcott and her no-nonsense friend Pearl Parsons know there’s got to be a better place to live than the roughneck town of Whiskey Bend, Colorado. When their friend Mary is assaulted by her brutal stepbrother, it’s the last straw. Hallie and Pearl pull up stakes, rescue Mary, and put as many miles of Colorado wilderness behind them as they can. But a violent storm soon sends their journey careening in a different direction. Enter Eli Morgan, a quiet rancher deep in family troubles—and pursued by unseen, ruthless enemies. Now with Mary’s vengeful stepbrother closing in on them all, Hallie must learn strength, perseverance, and courage…if she is to claim the life and love that can be hers.

* * *

The following two novels are upcoming releases that I have been looking forward to for a long time and I can’t wait for them to come out. The first book is by a new author to me named Kathryn Caskie and this book is the first book of her new series called The Seven Deadly Sins. I’ve read her Royale Sisters Trilogy and thought I would see what her new series was about because it sounded very intriguing just by the title of the series alone. The series is about the sexy Sinclair family, who after being forced from Scotland for their wicked ways take London by storm and give all new meaning to the word sin. I’m very excited about getting and reading this book and I hope you all put this book on top of your wish list for Christmas which is coming soon.

The second book is by one of my favorite authors MaryJanice Davidson who has written a vampire paranormal series that I enjoy and another paranormal series about a mermaid that now is releasing the third book in the series. This book is in her Fred the Mermaid series and it is the third of a wonderful series that I have enjoyed very much reading since it came out. In the second book in the series Davidson left me intrigued and wondering what would happen to Fred the Mermaid next because it left of in a sort of cliffhanger for me. Okay I’ve rambled enough about what I think about the books let’s get to what the books are about so here they are.


November releases by NYT best-selling romance authors:

To Sin with a Stranger
Copyright © 2008 by Kathryn Caskie
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
Release date: November 25, 2008

Blurb:

Meet the “Seven Deadly Sins”

The seven Sinclair brothers and sisters live for scandal and delight in disgrace...until their father decrees that they must reform. Propriety has never come easily, but now they have no choice. Marry in haste…Or regret in poverty!


The Sinclairs of Scotland are known throughout society as The Seven Deadly Sins. Cast out by their father and denied their inheritance unless they mend their wild ways, they travel to London to seek respectability. No member of the clan is more scandalous than Sterling Sinclair, the Marquess of Blackburn. The ladies of the ton are powerless to withstand his rakish charms…until Miss Isobel Carington comes along.

Ten thousand pounds if she marries Sinclair!

Isobel is horrified to learn that’s the amount wagered at White’s Club—and now all of London is eagerly betting on her future! She’s already publicly spurned the Marquess, a man she hardly knows, but she’s sure he is up to something as he launches a bold campaign of seduction anyway. But soon she is surprised to learn there is much more to this man than reckless adventure and bad behavior…and, against her will, she begins to relish the thrill of sinning with this stranger…
* * *

Fish out of Water
Copyright © 2008 by MaryJanice Davidson/Alongi
Published by Penguin Group USA
Release date: November 25, 2008

Blurb:



Third in the hilarious New York Times bestselling series featuring Fred the Mermaid.

Fred the Mermaid has taken the bait and chosen to date Artur, Prince of the Black Sea, over human marine biologist Thomas. And just in time. The existence of the Undersea Folk is no longer a secret, and someone needs to keep them from floundering in the media spotlight. Fred has all the right skills for that job, but has a hard time when her real father surfaces and tries to overthrow Artur's regime.
    
 



October 2008 Issue # 3

Hey everyone!

I’m Phoebe Jordan also known as The Voice of Romance here on Romance Writers United, but you probably already know that. For those of you who are just tuning in, this is my October column, my third column for RWU, and I have to say that I have been looking forward to writing this all month. I’m a bit more secure about writing this column now, and I am enjoying every time I sit down at my laptop and think about all the novels I’ve read lately, and trying to pick the ones that I should mention. Well, unfortunately this month none of the RWU member authors, both published and unpublished, have posted any current, upcoming or work-in-progress information. So for this month I will have time to discuss some awesome new authors and books that I’ve recently discovered.

I was lucky enough to have found such an amazing author through a blog called The Book Girl from Book Blogger Appreciation Week. Marta Acosta is such an amazing author, and I was happy that I found out about her when I was surfing through blogs. I was also lucky enough to get all of her novels personally autographed. I love paranormal novels, and I thought that the comedy in the them just made them so much more fun to read. This wonderful Casa Dracula series is different from other novels that I’ve read because it's about a Hispanic woman, who I at times identify with because I'm also Hispanic and am trying to graduate from college while trying to find my purpose in life.

The heroine of the novel is Milagro de Los Santos, which in English is translated to mean Miracle of the Saints, a Latina Ivy league graduate who hasn't found her place in the world or a man to go with it. I reviewed all three novels on my blog Talk About My Favorite Authors if you want to read what I had to say about them. Here is a little bit more about them so you can understand why I got hooked. This is from the first book to the current release of the series, which isn’t over because I was promised, by the author herself, that she is working on Casa Dracula book four.

Happy Reading!
~ Phoebe


 
Happy Hour at Casa Dracula
Copyright © 2006 Marta Acosta
Published by Simon & Schuster Adult Publishing Group

A dazzlingly original new voice in contemporary fiction, Marta Acosta bursts onto the literary scene with a wryly comic, vibrantly written novel about a young woman who finds her heart’s desire in the least likely places.

Happy Hour at Casa Dracula
Latina Ivy League grad Milagro de Los Santos can’t find her place in the world or a man to go with it. Then one night, at a book party for her pretentious ex-boyfriend, she meets an oddly attractive man. After she is bitten while kissing him, she falls ill and is squirreled away to his family’s estate to recover. Vampires don’t exist in this day and age—or do they? As Milagro falls for a fabulously inappropriate man, she finds herself caught between a family that has accepted her as one of its own and a powerful, clandestine organization that refuses to let the undead live and love in peace.

* * *

Midnight Brunch
Copyright © 2007 Marta Acosta
Published by Simon & Schuster Adult Publishing Group


Milagro thinks she’s finally found love and a home at California ranch of fabulous Oswald Grant and his urbane relatives how have a rare genetic disorder that some call vampirism. But Milagro is bewildered when she’s excluded from a mysterious midnight ceremony whose participants include a creepy family elder and Milagro’s powerful ex-lover. What skeletons are the vampires keeping in their designer closets? When Milagro’s life threatened, she flees to the desert to hide. Instead of solitude, she encounters an egomaniacal actor, a parting heiress, a sly tabloid reporter, and a lavish spa full of dark secrets—all of which might help her find a way home.


* * *
The Bride of Casa Dracula
Copyright © 2008 Marta Acosta
Published by Simon & Schuster Adult Publishing Group


WEDDING BLISS AMISS
Milagro De Los Santos is having serious problems planning her wedding to fabulous Oswald Grant, M.D. Her future in-laws loathe her, her dog just died, and Oswald’s family has a genetic anomaly that makes them crave blood. Then her extravagant best friend hijacks the role of wedding coordinator, and the secretive Vampire Council assigns conniving Cornelia Ducharme to guide the couple through the ancient vampire marriage rituals.

To top it all off, Milagro’s career is on the skids. She’s reduced to ghost-writing the memoirs of a loony little man who claims to be a shapeshifter. And why does Cornelia’s decadent, way too attractive brother, Ian, always show up whenever Milagro is away from Oswald? When a series of accidents interferes with wedding plans, Oswald worries that Milagro is cracking under the pressure. Is she just paranoid, or is a hidden enemy trying to make sure Milagro doesn’t wed the undead?

* * *

Now for current releases that I’ve bought, and have on the top of my To Be Read pile. The first one I will be talking about, the much acclaimed and looked for novel by Karen Marie Moning is Faefever. I haven’t had the chance to read it since I bought it, but it's on the top of my TBR pile and I’m really looking forward to reading it, because I've heard so much about it all over the Internet. I have heard good and bad things about it that have me really excited and curious about reading the book. I won’t mention them here, but I will say that you should visit Karen Marie Moning’s MySpace, blog and forum if you want to find out more about the gossip and reviews about the book.

The second current release that I’ve bought, and have on the top of my TBR pile is the third book in Linda Lael Miller’s Stone Creek series. The Rustler is a book that I really look forward to reading soon because it is written by the amazing romance author Linda Lael Miller. She is known for her western historical romances, and I have been trying to buy as many of her books as I can because she is such a great writer who makes her characters come to life when I read her books. I read the first two books in her Stone Creek series and loved them both, so reading this book is going to be such a treat.

Enjoy!

Current releases by NYT best-selling romance authors:

Faefever
Copyright © 2008 Karen Marie Moning
Published by Delacorte Press

He calls me his Queen of the Night. I’d die for him. I’d kill for him, too. When MacKayla Lane receives a torn page from her dead sister’s journal, she is stunned by Alina’s desperate words. And now MacKayla knows that her sister’s killer is close. But evil is closer. And suddenly the sidhe-seer is on the hunt: For answers. For revenge. And for an ancient book of dark magic so evil, it corrupts anyone who touches it.

Mac’s quest for the Sinsar Dubh takes her into the mean, shape-shifting streets of Dublin, with a suspicious triangle of alliance with V’lane, an insatiable Fae prince of lethally erotic tastes, and Jericho Barrons, a man of primal desires and untold secrets, Mac is soon locked in a battle for her body, mind, and soul.

As All Hallows’ Eve approaches and the city descends into chaos, as a shocking truth about the Dark Book is uncovered, not even Mac can prevent a deadly race of immortals from shattering the walls between worlds—with devastating consequences...

* * *
The Rustler
Copyright © 2008 Linda Lael Miller
Published by Harlequin


Where does an outlaw go when he’s ready to turn straight? For Wyatt Yarbro, reformed rustler and train robber, Stone Creek is his place of redemption. And lovely Sarah Tamlin is the perfect angel to help him clean up his act...

But Sarah keeps a dark secret behind her prim and proper façade, even as her heart is lost to charming, sexy Wyatt. When a vengeful enemy prepares to unleash havoc on the peaceful town, Wyatt and Sarah will discover that they can’t hide from the past. To win the fight, they must believe in something they never trusted before—the hope of tomorrow.

* * *

The following three novels are upcoming releases that I have been looking forward to for a long time and I can’t wait for them to come out. The first book is a unique volume that gives you behind-the-scenes look into J.R. Ward’s amazing Black Dagger Brotherhood series, and it even includes a brand-new, never before published short story starring Zsadist and Bella. This is one novel that I don’t plan to miss and I recommend all BDB fans to save to pocket change so you can go out and buy this great book when it comes out. I have a feeling that it might get sold out before the end of the first day it’s out.

The second book, by Katie MacAlister is the second book in her new Silver Dragons series, which is kind of a spinoff of her Aisling Grey, Guardian series where all the dragon septs have been mentioned and talked about. I like the leader of the Silver Dragons because he is such a good friend to Aisling in her novel and he is finally getting a mate after so many years looking for one. His dragon sept is said to have been cursed with extinction because they’ve not been blessed with new mated couples and children.


The third book is written by Janet Chapman, an author that I have come to really enjoy since I stumbled upon some of her amazing books. This book is the first of her Sinclair Brothers series which I have to say sounds very intriguing and I know that it will be a good read because Mr. Chapman hasn’t let me down with an uninteresting novel. I love her series, which she has written three, and this is her fourth series to date. I love her novels because they are all set in Maine, which is an amazing place that I would like to visit one day, because Ms. Chapman is from Maine and so she writes about what she knows.

Okay I’ve rambled enough about what I think about the books. Let’s get to what the books are about. So here they are.


October releases by NYT best-selling romance authors:

The Black Dagger Brotherhood: An Insider’s Guide
Copyright © 2008 J.R. Ward/Jessica Bird
Published by Signet Eclipse
Release Date: October 7, 2008

From #1 New York Times bestselling author J.R. Ward comes a once-in-a-lifetime event: A unique volume that delivers a behind-the-scenes look at Ward’s “to die for”* Black Dagger Brotherhood series—and a brand-new, never before published short story starring Zsadist and Bella...
Prepare to enter the dark passionate world of The Black Dagger Brotherhood and get up close and personal with each one of the Brothers...

You’ll find insider information on the Brotherhood, their dossiers, stats and special gifts. You’ll read interviews with your favorite characters, including a heartbreaking one with Tohrment and Wellsie, conducted three weeks before she was killed by lessers. You’ll encounter deleted scenes—accompanied by the whys behind the cuts—in addition to exciting material from the J.R. Ward message boards and the answers to questions posed by readers about the series. You’ll learn what it’s like for J.R. Ward to write each installment of the series, and in a fascinating twist, you’ll read an interview with the author—conducted by the Brothers. For the first time ever, you’ll get an original short story about Zsadist and Bella and see the miracle of their daughter Nalla's birth and the depth of their love for each other. Also, you’ll get a sneak peek at the much anticipated next book in the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, Revenge’s story.

This is a compendium no Black Dagger Brotherhood fan should miss...and an insider’s guide that will seduce you as powerfully as the sexy band of Brothers and the “ferociously popular” world they live in...

* * *
Up in Smoke
Published by Penguin Group USA
Release Date: October 7, 2008

Though May Northcott's heart belongs to Gabriel Tauhou, leader of the silver dragons, being stuck in Abaddon has significantly cooled down her love life—especially since a demon lord is trying to woo her. So far, May has resisted his efforts, but it's getting increasingly harder to thwart disaster.So May is shocked when Gabriel encourages her to give in to the demon prince. But her fire-breathing boyfriend has an ulterior motive. Since May was created in the mortal world, her surrender would give her master access to that world, where he would lose most of his powers.

It looks as though May will have to barter to gain her freedom and fulfill her destiny by Gabriel's side. But will a deal with the devil make life heaven or hell?

* * *
Man Must Marry, The
Copyright © 2008 Janet Chapman
Published by Simon & Schuster Adult Publishing Group
Release Date: October 28, 2008

Sam Sinclair's millionaire grandfather has left a will that gives the family shipping company to whichever grandson marries Willa Kent. Willa and Sam team up to find some loophole in the will, but as Sam crews Willa's yacht en route to Maine, his grandfather's offbeat scheme grows more and more appealing. Willa is smart, beautiful...and has a wild streak that sends them both soaring. But Willa isn't about to let Sam into her heart until she knows his true motives. If the man is going to marry for money, he must fall in love with her first.
    
 



September 2008 Issue # 2

Welcome Everyone!

I’m Phoebe Jordan, also known as The Voice of Romance here on Romance Writers United, but you probably already know that. This is my second column for RWU, and I have to say that I got over my nerves that I had when I was writing the first column. I’m a bit more secure about writing this column now, and I am enjoying every time I sit down at my laptop and think about all the novels I’ve read lately and trying to pick the ones that I should mention in this column. I also talked Nancy Ann Rose, the co-founder of RWU into giving me a bit of something of her writing to put in the column And she has, so look for it when you continue reading. There are a couple of new authors, members of Romance Writers United, who I'm proud to say, have a couple of recent and upcoming releases this month.

Happy Reading!
~ Phoebe


 
Current releases by Romance Writers United authors:


Heatherfield
Copyright © 2008 M. Jean Pike
Published by Black Lyon Publishing


Deep in a box of used books, counselor Tory Sasser comes across a novel without an ending: Heatherfield. As she reads the story of scarred war veteran, Jake Benjamin, her tears fall on the pages—and she could swear new words appear where once there was nothing.

But the fictional town of Heatherfield isn’t all it seems, nor is its creator, Destiny Paige. When Tory’s car runs off the road into the mist, she’s transported back to the 1940s—into the novel, trapped by the spirits that govern the place through Destiny. Even more, Tory is caught by the honest warmth and complicated tenderness that is Jake Benjamin. Realizing she’s falling in love with Jake, Tory is desperate to find her way back home to reality. Yet what is more real than true love? No, Heatherfield isn’t all it seems...not at all.

* * *

Waiting for the Rain
Copyright © 2007 M. Jean Pike
Published by Champagne Books


Willow Mackenzie desperately needs a miracle. Darby Sullivan has one to offer. But sharing it may cost him his life.

* * *

Winds of Autumn, The
Copyright © 2005 M. Jean Pike
Published by Publish America


Scorned by her zealot mother after being raped by a cult leader, The Shepherd, eighteen-year-old Angel knows her only hope of survival is escape. On a rainy September night, she flees her mother's home, unaware of the supernatural forces that guide her on her journey to Littlebrook; a poor, mountain village where nothing ever changes and nothing is as innocent as it seems. Alone and afraid, Angel finds an ally in Don Hanson, the village doctor with a haunted past. Angel's resemblance to Don's dead wife, Mary, is the eerily powerful magnet that draws him to her, stirring his shattered heart to love again. But for this unlikely pair, love comes at a high price, as Angel's mysterious appearance creates a tempest in the small town, reawakening ghosts from the past, and striking vengeance in the dark heart of an enemy Angel didn't know she had.


Current Works-In-Progress by Aspiring Writers of Romance Writers United:


Fall From Grace
Copyright © 2008 Nancy Ann Rose


“Unlucky in Love” holds whole new meaning for business woman, Charlee Beckett. Not only is she unlucky in love, she's just plain unlucky. Where Charlee goes, disaster follows. When her ex-fiancé invites her to his wedding, she attempts to opt out on the premise she has prior commitments. But the bride-to-be is her cousin, who suspects Charlee still harbors feelings for her future groom. To save face, Charlee enlists the aid of Jake Randall, brother to her long-time friend and business partner.

Jake Randall prefers his women tall, willowy and blonde—not short, dark and accident prone. But something about the luckless Charlee tugs at his heartstrings. Convinced it’s just sympathy for the hapless woman, Jake consents to act the part of her boyfriend for the evening. As luck would have it, the charade takes a further twist with the announcement that the festivities will be held over a one week period at the groom’s family estates. Unless they ditch the entire affair, Jake and Charlee will risk everything by continuing with the pretense.

* * *

Now for some authors you may all know and love to read. I recently received an ARC of an author that I never read before and she goes by two names, Shelley Bradley and Shayla Black. I haven’t read books from either of her names, but I was happy that I won an ARC of Shayla Black’s Tempt me with Darkness, which is the first book in her Doomsday Brethren series. I enjoyed it very much and posted my review of it on my Talk About Favorite My Authors blog. But that is not all. I also was lucky enough to get a short interview with Shayla about her writing and her Doomsday Brethren series which I posted on my Authors blog.

And there’s this new release by Diana Holquist that finishes off her One True Love trilogy. I was lucky enough to meet her in person when she came to Central Park in New York City in June for the New York Book Festival, in which her second book, Sexiest Man Alive, in her One True Love trilogy, won the New York Book Festival Romance Award. She was lovely enough to sign my two books of hers that I brought with me, and she even took a couple of pictures that I wrote and posted about on my Authors blog.

But enough about me, here are some current and upcoming releases by authors I love to read, and watch for their new books to come out.

Enjoy!


Current releases by NYT best-selling romance authors:


Hungry For More
Copyright © 2008 Diana Holquist
Published by Forever Grand Central Publishing


WITH PASSION ON THE MENU...
Chef James LaChance has not time for gorgeous Gypsy who appears at his restaurant with mysterious agenda. But women inspire his delectable menus, and after one kiss from this temptress he creates his boldest dish ever. With her on his side—and in his bed—his restaurant could earn its third star. But is success worth losing his heart to a woman who has sworn off love forever?

WHO NEEDS DESSERT?
Amy Burns is a Gypsy with a gift: She can name a person’s One True Love. To keep her mystical power, she can never fall in love herself—a price she’s more than willing to pay. Until she meets the sexy chef whose talents in the kitchen are surpassed only by his talents in the bedroom. But is any man worth giving up the only gift she’s ever had? As desire leads to passion, Amy must choose between her destiny and the man who leaves her ..

* * *

Tempt me with Darkness
Published by Pocket Books


He’s an immortal knight hungering for satisfaction...
As soon as Marrok sees Olivia Gray, he’s sure they met in eons past. He’s felt her soft, gentle curves writhing in pleasure beneath his own powerful body...Morganna! For centuries, towering Marrok, once the mightiest of King Arthur’s warriors, has endured a terrible curse the witch cast upon him when he spurned the witch.

She’s a modern woman about to discover ancient magic...
Olivia shares a mystical—and irresistible—connection with brooding Marrok. Soon after the sexy warrior appears in her erotic dreams, he abducts her, demanding she uncurse him. Their intense passion is more powerful—and intimate—than either of them has ever known. Olivia may be the key to unlocking the diary that will break Morganna’s hold on his life. But in the wrong hands, the book also holds the power to destroy magickind. As they search for answers, a ruthless wizard returned from exile is building an army of evil. When he discovers Marrok and Olivia have the diary, only their love—with the help of a powerful group of magical Brethren—can save them.

* * *

The following two novels are both part of a series of two mystery writers that I stumbled upon on one of my many trips to Barnes & Noble looking for new authors and novels to read. They aren’t really considered romance novels per say but they do have the elements for one and that’s why I have been addicted to these two writers. Death Perception is a paranormal mystery romance novel and it is the sixth book in Victoria Laurie’s Abby Copper Psychic Eye Mysteries series. I’m really looking forward to it because the last 5 in the series were amazing reads, and I want more about Abby.

Dial Me for Murder is a mystery all the way with a bit of romance in it because the heroine has a man in her life that she may be serious with but hasn’t really committed to yet and it is the fifth book in Amanda Matetsky’s Paige Turner Mystery series. I’m also really looking forward to this novel because Paige, the heroine, is such a delight to read about because she lives in the 1950s and wants to be a reporter for the magazine she works for, but isn’t really taken seriously because she is a woman, and in those days, women were not considered capable of a man’s job. Okay I’ve rambled enough about the books so here they are.


September releases by NYT best-selling romance authors:


Death Perception
Copyright © 2008 Victoria Laurie
Published by Penguin Group USA
Release Date: September 2, 2008


Abby Cooper's betting the house on her inner eye...
It took a while for Abby Cooper's FBI agent boyfriend, Dutch Rivers, to accept her psychic gifts as the real deal. But these days he knows better than to question Abby's visions. So when his favorite cousin Chase is kidnapped in Vegas, they both catch the next flight to Sin City. Abby's inner eye insists that Chase is still alive, but nothing else about the case adds up—especially Dutch's reluctance to involve his own Bureau.

On top of everything, Dutch is battling a mysterious illness, and Abby keeps having disturbing dreams that predict his death. Dutch wants Abby to promise that if the investigation goes south, she'll head home to safety. But when the chips are down, Abby won't fold without a fight...

* * *

Dial Me for Murder
Copyright © 2008 Amanda Matetsky
Published by Penguin Group USA
Release Date: September 2, 2008


Crime reporter and mystery novelist, Paige Turner is looking into the murder of a young secretary whose naked body was found in Central Park—with the understanding between herself and the police that Paige keeps her exclusive investigation off the record and out of the pages of Daring Detective.
    
 



August 2008 Issue # 1

Hello Everyone!

I’m Phoebe Jordan, also known as The Voice of Romance here on Romance Writers United. This is my first column so I’m a little nervous because I've never done this before, and I don’t want to sound boring or uninteresting. To start off, when I was asked to write this column for Romance Writers United, I was pretty honored and very excited about having such a great opportunity to write about one of my favorite subjects, which is as you must obviously know—reading romance novels. I love reading romance novels of almost every sub-genre: contemporary, paranormal, historical, erotica, suspense, thriller and many more. There are a couple of new authors, members of Romance Writers United, who I'm proud to say, have a couple of recent and upcoming releases this month.

Happy Reading!
~ Phoebe


Current releases by Romance Writers United authors:


Affairs of the Heart
Copyright © 2007 Kristie Leigh Maguire
Published by Star Publish, LLC


From the blistering sands of California's Mojave Desert, to the glittering neon lights of Las Vegas, Marcie Treyhorne sweeps you away into a world of sex and passion in Desert Heat. Marcie's adventures continue in the mountains of northern Nevada in Cabin Fever. Enter Marcie's world...if you dare!

* * *

Before Dawn Breaks
Copyright © 2008 Rae Lori
Published by Freya’s Bower


Alexandra Lyons is a cold, seductive assassin, skilled in the art of killing. Camilla Angelson is a bubbly writer enjoying the quiet life as a recent graduate from college. Both women are the same person. Unfortunately, her former employer, the secret government bureau that hired her, knows this all too well.

Josh Mayer is a former secret service agent looking to pick up the pieces of his life after a messy divorce from a cheating wife and a job of putting his life on the line. Doubling as a restaurateur and an "unofficial" undercover agent, the beautiful female target he is protecting may be the same one he is willing to risk his life and, most of all, his heart to save.

* * *

Vision of Seduction
Copyright © 2008 Cassie Ryan
Published by Kensington Aphrodisia

From A Vision Of Passion...

Katelyn Hunt is fascinated with the sexy stranger who has been hanging out at her New Age store for the last week. As a Seer, the sensual power she feels from this man of mystery intrigues—and arouses—her. But only his touch allows her to truly see what it would be like to lie beneath him naked and exposed, experiencing complete sexual surrender. And this vision is just the beginning...


August 2008 releases by Romance Writers United authors:


Take it Off
Copyright © 2006 Tina Gerow
Published by Sapphire Blue Publishing
Release Date: August 15, 2008

When Samantha Ryan receives a call from her mother, asking her to come home and run the family business—a real live Nevada brothel—she's not thrilled about it, but she agrees. Realizing that her final night out with her friends will be the last for a while, Samantha takes the opportunity presented to her in the form of Chase Hanson.

* * *

Vortex Blues
Copyright © 2007 Tina Gerow
Published by Sapphire Blue Publishing
Release Date: August 15, 2008

After punching his last boss in the mouth, Detective Mitch Guthrie is transferred to what he considers the worst position available for a cop—the SPOOK Squad (Special Paranormal Operations & Otherworldly Contact.) As a human with special gifts that allow him to sense non humans things get interesting when he’s assigned a partner who is a succubus, and his first case involves a succubus serial killer. Between the Sedona, Arizona vortexes, his captain—the actual Cleopatra, a gargoyle bartender named Rocky, and a fear demon who gives off a urine smell, Mitch isn’t so sure he’ll survive the week with all his body parts still intact.


Current Works-In-Progress by Aspiring Writers of Romance Writers United:



Timeless Mist
Copyright © 2008 Terissa Wilcox

Art-history major, Kristianna Campbell's class trip to Scotland becomes a lot more than the simple vacation she planned. Thanks to an enchanted watch, Kris is transported back to 1603 Scotland during the proscription against the MacGregor's. She lands smack in the middle of Iain MacGregor's territory. Unsure of where she is or how she got there, Kris is stunned when she realizes that Iain is not exactly a stranger to her. She's dreamed of him for weeks. And her attraction to him is stronger in the flesh than in her dreams.

* * *

Now for some authors you may all know and love to read. I recently finished reading Lisa Jackson’s newest release, Left to Die this past weekend. I also had the honor of interviewing New York Times bestselling author, Lisa Jackson, on my blog. I reviewed her book and really enjoyed reading it because it was a very suspenseful throughout, and the serial killer is very intriguing and cleaver. But enough about me, here are some current and upcoming releases by authors I love to read, and watch for their new books to come out.

Enjoy!


Current releases by NYT best-selling romance authors:


Left to Die
Copyright © 2008 Lisa Jackson
Published by Zebra Books, Kensington Publishing


NOTHING’S MORE TERRIFYING...
One by one, the victims are carefully captured, toyed with, then subjected to a slow and agonizing death. Piece by piece, his exquisite plan takes shape. The police can’t yet see the beauty in his work—but soon, very soon, they will...

THAN BEING LEFT ALONE...
In the lonely woods around Grizzly Galls, Montana, four bodies have been discovered. Detectives Selena Alvarez and Regan Pescoli have been hoping for a career-making case, but this is a nightmare. Even with the FBI involved, Selena and Regan have nothing to go on but a killer’s cryptic notes, and the unsettling knowledge that there is much worse to come...

TO DIE...
When Jillian Rivers opens her eyes, she’s trapped in a mangled car. Then a stranger, claiming to be a trail guide named Zane MacGregor, pries her free. Though she’s grateful, something about him sets Jillian on edge. And if she knew what lay out there in the woods of Montana, she’d be truly terrified. Because someone is waiting...watching…poised to strike and make Jillian the next victim...

* * *

Some Like it Wicked
Copyright © 2008 Teresa Medeiros
Published by HQN Books

Some like it dangerous...
Highland beauty Catriona Kincaid cares nothing for propriety—or even her own safety—when she storms the grounds of Newgate Prison. Determined to return to Scotland and restore her clan’s honor, she seeks the help of Sir Simon Wescott, a disgraced nobleman and notorious rogue. She is prepared to offer him both wealth and freedom, but she never dreams the wicked rake will be bold enough to demand a far more sensual prize.

Some like it seductive...
Simon is shocked to discover the tomboy he met long ago has blossomed into a headstrong temptress. Although he’s sworn off his dreams of becoming a hero, he can’t resist playing knight errant to Catriona’s damsel in distress. Both adventure and peril await them at her Highland home, where they will risk their lives to vanquish her enemies…and risk their hearts to discover a passion beyond their wildest dreams.


August releases by NYT best-selling romance authors:


Book of Scandal, The
Copyright © 2008 Julia London
Published by Simon & Schuster Publishing Group
Release Date: August 19, 2008


The Princess of Wales has catalogued the shocking exploits of the outrageous Prince of Wales and many of his noble friends in a book that has all of London aflutter...

Nathan Grey, the Earl of Lindsey, is infamously known as the Libertine of Lindsey for his scandalous ways with women. But when he hears gossip that his estranged wife, Evelyn, is about to be named in The Book of Scandal, he has no choice but to remove her from London to protect her and himself from charges of treason—even if it calls for abduction.

While Evelyn has no legal recourse against the man who broke her heart years ago but is still considered her lord and master, she is no longer the immature girl Nathan married. Her enforced homecoming quickly turns into a battle of wills that tears down her husband’s defenses and lays bare the passion that still burns between them. Before it is too late, Nathan must confront powerful adversaries as he convinced Evelyn that she is not only his wife, but the one woman he will love for all time.

* * *

Dark Embrace
Copyright © 2008 Brenda Joyce
Published by HQN Books
Release Date: August 26, 2008


A Highland warrior sworn to protect Innocence throughout the ages...
Aidan, the Wolf of Awe, has abandoned the Brotherhood and forsaken his vows. Feared by all and trusted by none, he hunts alone, seeking vengeance against the evil that destroyed his son. He has not saved an Innocent in sixty-six years—until he hears Brianna Rose’s scream of terror across centuries, and leaps to modern-day Manhattan to rescue her...

Her Seduction...His Salvation
Brie spends her time fighting evil from the safety of her laptop—and fantasizing about the medieval Highlander she met just once. She is also a gifted empath. Still, her life is pretty ordinary—until she awakens one night consumed with Aidan’s pain and rage—which she is feeling across centuries! And when Aidan suddenly appears in the city and takes her hostage, Brie cannot believe how dark and dangerous he has become. She knows she should be afraid, but instead, she will fight across time for his redemption...and his love.
    
 


You Might Like

Click here to safely unsubscribe from "The Voice of Romance."
Click here to view mailing archives, here to change your preferences, or here to subscribePrivacy