Becky and Her Two Children Promises by: SUMite Becky Walker I wanted to write about the Lord’s promises and explain what the Lord recently revealed to me. I encountered opposition about claiming the Lord’s promises for my husband. My husband...

 

God's Promise For A Marriage - Thankfulness This Thanksgiving and more...

God's Promise For A Marriage - Thankfulness This Thanksgiving

Becky Walker Family Nov 2017
Becky and Her Two Children

Promises by: SUMite Becky Walker

I wanted to write about the Lord’s promises and explain what the Lord recently revealed to me. I encountered opposition about claiming the Lord’s promises for my husband.

My husband and I have been separated for almost three years and he actually divorced me in May 2016, but I didn’t even know about it until a year later. He has since married someone else and they have separated. I have also consulted with my lawyer who says that the divorce was not carried out legally and we could contest it. That door still has not slammed shut.

Years ago, before my husband left, the Lord promised me that my husband would return, not a slave to sin, but a brother in Christ (Philemon 1:15-16). He also promised me that He would give my husband an undivided heart and place His Holy Spirit in him, remove his stony heart and replace it with a heart of flesh (Ezekiel 11:19 and 36:26). I have clung to these promises and claimed these promises, even in the face of opposition, because of the faith He gives me.

The Lord continues to me of His promise to keep me strong and give me the faith to make the decisions He wants me to make. I have watched my husband, (yes, I still call him that), Charlie, go from not wanting to set foot in a church to regularly attending a Bible believing church in our community. In fact, the last time he had our children, he took them to church on Saturday evening and Sunday morning. Years ago, before we separated, he did not want me to pray for meals but lately he has asked my children to pray for the meal when they go out to eat. My daughter also told me that when she got into his jeep last night, he was listening to a "man talking about God." And recently he told them that he listens to pastors on the radio now. Charlie is a truck driver who travels across several states during the night, so he may be listening to hours of God’s Word. 

I have watched God do amazing things and He still amazes me every day. I do not waver in unbelief regarding the promise of God, but my faith is strengthened, and I give glory to God, being fully persuaded that He has the power to do what He has promised. (Romans 4:20-21). His promises have reminded me how to react and speak to my husband in every situation; speaking with grace so that I do not ruin my witness. His promises guided me to wait on the Lord when everyone else was telling me to divorce Charlie and move on. His promises give me the faith to make decisions that would seem foolish to the world based on my circumstances, like quitting my job as a public-school teacher to home school my children as a "single" mom. God not only provided almost all of my home school resources for free, but He has also provided an amazing job in which I'm teaching English to children in China online in the early morning hours.

The Lord’s promises are such an amazing act of grace and mercy. He could just leave us in the dark about everything that is going to happen. We could just be left to try to figure everything out on our own. People who do not follow Jesus are doing just that each day; living in the dark and trying to figure everything out on their own.

His promises are the reason we can walk by faith and not fear.

His promises are the reason we have peace and joy in the midst of storms.

We need to cling to and claim His promises, personal ones He reveals and the amazing promise of eternal life. There are over 100 promises in the Bible that we have the privilege to claim as believers. 

I was recently thinking about Joseph and the Lord’s promises to him through his dreams. I used to think that Joseph was enslaved only because he shared the dreams he had with his brothers, but the Lord recently revealed a new perspective. Since the Lord knows everything before it happens, and He knows our hearts, perhaps the dreams the Lord gave Joseph were given to Joseph because of what the Lord knew would happen. He knew Joseph’s brothers’ hearts and the way they felt about Joseph because of Jacob’s love and favor towards him. The Lord knew what the brothers were going to do to Joseph before it happened. I believe that the Lord used those dreams He gave Joseph to keep him strong during the trials the Lord knew Joseph would face; the enslavement, imprisonment, and needing to forgive His brothers. 

The Lord knows what each and every one of us needs and He does not keep us in the dark. He knows what every soul is longing for and what every person will have to endure in their lifetime because He has already seen it all play out. It is by His grace and mercy that we have the promise of eternal life and we need that to carry us through the hard times, the confusing times, the struggles.

He knew we would need His promises. We need to remember His promise of eternal life and personal promises that He reveals because He has given them to us for a reason; not just as something to hope for and patiently wait for but as a guide. We should always base our decisions, our attitudes, and our behavior on His promises and seek to follow Jesus, trusting Him that He will bring us to that promise. I know that God will fulfill His personal promise to me and my family because He has already seen it happen. But most importantly of all, I know I will have the promise of eternal life with Jesus, my Savior in His perfect timing. I will be living with Jesus in eternal light, brilliant colors that don’t even exist on Earth, a glorified body, no tears, no worries, no fears, no sickness, and no pain. I can't wait! 

It is also up to us to share that promise with everyone. Righteousness is the opposite of sin and Heaven is the opposite of Hell. We need to remember that there is also a promise of eternal damnation for those who do not follow Jesus, the Way, the Truth, and the Life. If Heaven is the opposite of Hell then the eternal damnation they face is one of eternal darkness (such that we’ve never experienced before), and an eternity of tears, pain, fear, sickness and horrors we can’t even imagine. We shouldn't want anyone, not even our worst enemy, to experience that. We need to intercede in prayer and share the Gospel with words and actions.    

Thank you, Lord, for your amazing promises that are so full of grace and mercy. Do not let us forget your promises. Open   our eyes to the opportunities to share Your promise with everyone around us.  Help us to live every day of our lives in the victory of that fulfilled promise and may You receive all of the glory for everything You do and all that You are. We trust that you will do whatever it takes to draw our loved ones to Jesus Christ.

Biography:

My name is Becky Walker. I live in Greensboro, North Carolina. I am a stay-at-home mother of two children; my 8-year-old, Charlie Walker, V and my 6-year-old, Lily. I used to teach middle school Spanish but in June, the Lord called me to home school my children. I resigned as a teacher, a lateral entry position that God had amazingly provided since I don’t even have a teaching license, and later in the summer, I applied to VIPKID. I now teach English to children in China and I’ve never enjoyed a job more. I live in a house that’s owned by our church, and I recently became involved in the ESL ministry there; another door God opened. I love spending time with my children and singing in our church choir.

        
 
 

Begin Thanksgiving With Thanks

The predawn light slips through the window as I sleepily rub my eyes and wait for the coffee to trickle into the pot. The aroma awakens a gentle smile. I swirl in the creamer then shuffle to my prayer room. There I gather my life-line, my Bible and the spiral binder. My Daily Bible

All is quiet. The family slumbers. It’s peaceful in this early morning hour.

My hands clasp about the cup, glad warmth seeps into my fingers. The warm air from the heater begins to circulate the room, as do the angelic. Seated under the lamp, I slowly open the pages. The precious and powerful pages that literally saved my life, changed my heart and continue to do so. These are the very pages where I met Jesus. I turn to the latter days of November. Rough and worn pages reflect scribbles of familiar writing, my thankfulness across the top, of years passing.

November 19, 2007 Praying for wisdom that comes from heaven.

November 20, 2009 My husband received offer for employment after a year of no work. Thank you, Lord!

November 22, 2004 Submitted article to magazine. Thank you, Lord.

November 22, 2007 Thanksgiving Day. Thank you Lord for your boundless mercy that God has given us the privilege of being born again.

November 26, 2006 Thank you for the new blog.

November 27, 2003 Thanksgiving Day. My Jesus, salvation, my daughter, son, time off, our home, my husband….Lord, may this year be the year of husband’s salvation.

The handwriting speaks softly to me of years gone by. Of markers of God’s provision, His love, His grace and His ever-present love in my simple life. I step into the words on the page this November 24th, 2011 and thank Him for the rich blessing of another year, a book, a chance to share the hope I have with others, a family that is healthy and under the profound protection of God Almighty.

Faithfulness. This is a record of faithfulness of a good Father in a life of an ordinary daughter.

Daniel, chapter one: I hear the LORD's voice, beckoning through the sentences, Be a woman of courage, of integrity, commitment and purpose. Serve God alone and never bow to idols of greed, gluttony, and self. In Peter chapter three: I’m met with such power. I'm wrecked and overwhelmed. It’s as if on this cold morning God is confirming once again, keep walking the walk, talking the talk, living it out the truth I hold in my heart before my unbelieving spouse. Jesus died for sinners that he might bring them safely home to God (vs 18).

Another sip of sentiment and little Peanut jumps up beside me. He paws the sleep from his eyes and waits for me as I speak tenderly to my Abba, Father.

I smile at his tawny face, pat his back. I sense he smiled.

Turning to my journal, I'm touched by the softness of the morning. The Presence of the Living God falls, heavy. Rushing to my knees, I whisper thanksgiving. Praying from the depths of my soul, filled and overflowing earnest for what truly matters in this world.

O Lord Jesus, my Savior,

Step with me before the throne of grace on this special morning. Allow me favor that I recount my blessings to our Father. Lord, You, have protected and prospered me with all the power of heaven this past year. You have saved my family and my friends from evil and sheltered from disaster. Lord you have spoiled me. I know life is unexpected. Nothing is a guarantee. Yet, today, I acknowledge that the luxuries of Your provision, exceed my dreams. I rejoice that You love me and delight to give gifts to Your children.

Father, thank you for my salvation, for knowing the truth that sets me free, for the healing of hearts, souls, and bodies. Thank you for sharing your Words with me that draw me closer to your heart and conform me to the likeness of Jesus. Thank you for my husband, my children, my home, my church, my online sisters and brothers. You know that my love for them is eternal, passionate, and sacrificing.

Thank you that ……. I am chosen.

I am chosen. I am chosen. I am chosen. Thank you that on this day day in November millions of your people pause with gratitude for Your hand. I love you Lord, your humble servant, Lynn

Moist lashes, trembling hands. The room has grown lighter. Peanut is scratching for his breakfast in the kitchen and I hear a stirring in the distant bedroom. The house is awakening. A full day awaits but for this moment on this day of thanks, I spent time with my King.

And I experienced HIM.

THAT is a perfect Thanksgiving.

Lynn

Give Thanks SUM


        
 
 

Making Preparations for Thanksgiving

Picture this scene:

RockwellIt’s Thanksgiving Day.

The table has been set with Grandma’s fine China.

The turkey has been carved.

The family members pose just before the blessing is said for a Norman Rockwell portrait.

The blessing is prayed.

The partaking of the Thanksgiving meal begins.

And then it happens – Uncle Obnoxious begins his usual antics of getting securely under your skin with his big mouth. His opinionated views on politics, religion, today’s youth, the preacher, and even how the turkey was carved flows as freely as water coming out of the kitchen faucet. His very presence begins to gnaw at you, and you pray under your breath, “Lord, why did I ever decide to come to this family gathering.”

Sound familiar to you?  Suffice it to say, most of us have an Uncle Obnoxious, or someone in our family who just sort of rubs us the wrong way. Perhaps some of you are already thinking of ways to respectfully decline this year’s Thanksgiving invitation, knowing he/she will be there.

Wait! Before you decline, may I offer you a ray of hope from my own experience that, not only brought emotional and spiritual healing into my heart, but paved the way for me to deal with all the, shall we respectfully call them “sandpaper” people in my life

You see, people like Uncle Obnoxious used to make me cringe.  In fact, I thought that I was called into the world to give “Help Tips” to my closest relatives and friends that would assist them in seeing things more positively.  And Lord knows, those legalistic people who only see things as either black or white, definitely needed my assistance in helping them balance the truth.  

Hogwash. The real truth of the matter was I was trying to mold them into what I wanted them to be, especially if I were going to have to deal with them on a regular basis. The bottom line was, instead of my help tips helping them, I was causing division.

The spiritual light bulb revelation that “changed me” instead of me trying to change others came as I listened to my mentor, the late Melba Berkeheimer teach from Romans 15:7:  Receive (accept) one another as Christ also received us to the glory of God.”

My spiritual light bulbs really went off when Melba asked:  “Did God say if you get rid of all the moles, then I will accept you?  Did God wait for you to get perfect before accepting you?”

She continued by explain that there is a big difference in accepting and approving. We sometimes think that we have to approve of someone in order to accept him/her, and that’s not true.  We have to accept a lot of things in life, but you don’t have to approve them.  We are all going to have different opinions, temperaments, and personalities.  These different types of people don’t have to be our bosom buddies, (even relatives), but we do have to accept them.

And so it was. I sat down with a pen and paper and begin to write out all those things that had gotten under my skin about a few people. I then decided that it was time to throw the list in the garbage can. I made a conscientious decision that I would now accept them just the way they are, and allow their creator to make the necessary changes in their lives if need be. 

Believe me, I am no longer stressed out around those people who used to make me cringe just to be in the same room with them. Well, not much anyway. Healing came into my life as I accepted them, as well as forgiveness for times their words hurt me. And yes, I had to ask a few, to forgive me for my interfering in their lives.  (They couldn’t believe it!)

It is a good feeling knowing I don’t have to straighten them out for their journey through life. I also walk with a confidence of knowing who I am in Christ and prayerfully walk as an ambassador for Him.

And with that, I encourage you to start preparing your heart this Thanksgiving to meet up with Uncle Obnoxious. Make a decision to love him unconditionally, warts, moles, and all—just like Christ loves and accepts you.

image from www.spirituallyunequalmarriage.comHappy Thanksgiving to all of you.

Martha Bush

Martha Bush grew up on a farm in Donalsonville, Georgia. She graduated from Valdosta State College, Valdosta, Georgia, with a BS degree in Business Education. After graduating from college, Martha began her teaching career that spanned grades 5-12 in both public and Christian schools. She also taught adult vocational courses in the Atlanta school system. Her love for teaching led her into areas outside the school system as she began teaching Bible study courses in jails, prisons, and at her local church.

She also writes a monthly inspirational post at Created Woman and is a contributing editor for Created Woman Magazine. In addition, Martha is a contributor to Girlfriends Coffee Hour and a member of the Orange County Christian Writers Guild.

Through her years of teaching, as well as being an avid reader of human behavior and grief counseling from noted Christian psychologists, she recognized how a team effort can help build a foundation in children at an early age that will enable them to cope with the losses in their lives. She believes this team, made of up parents, grandparents, educators, and spiritual leaders, can guide a child to healing from losses he or she might experience. They can do this simply by recognizing his pain, listening to his pain and then teaching the child how to apply the principles of God’s Word to his hurting heart.

This led her to write Helping Hurting Children: A Journey of Healing. Martha resides in Orange, Texas, with her husband, Glen. They are the parents of two grown daughters who have blessed them with three beautiful grandchildren.

        
 
 

Sumite Prayer Partners

Hello Sumite sisters and brothers!  Prayer Partnerships - SUM

Please join me in reading from 2 Peter 1:3-4 By his divine power, God has given us everything we need for living a godly life. We have received all of this by coming to know him, the one who called us to himself by means of his marvelous glory and excellence. And because of his glory and excellence, he has given us great and precious promises. These are the promises that enable you to share his divine nature and escape the world's corruption caused by human desires.

Mighty God, today we rest in your provision. Through the work of Jesus Christ and continued indwelling of your Spirit, we have been given all we need to live the lives you've called us to. We look at our circumstances or the state of our world and we feel like lost sheep. Remind us that we are never more than a breath away from you. We have only to cry out to you, recommit to your will and devote our hearts again. God, challenge us to rise each morning and seek your presence first. You, mighty protector and provider, want your children to know your heart and receive all you have planned for us. Pour into us and provide the growth to the seeds planted deep in our souls. Father, we look to you and ask, what will you do in and through us today? We pray and praise in the matchless name of Jesus Christ, our savior and messiah, AMEN!

More information on our Sumite Prayer Partnerships can be found by clicking this link: Sumite Prayer Partnerships

If you are ready to receive a prayer partner then please send me an email using this link: Email Christy Edney In your email, please provide your name and your geographic location. 

If you and your partner are experiencing difficulty or you would like prayer then please email me using this link: Email Christy Edney

 
        
 
 

Persecution - Beatitudes- This IS WILD!

per·se·cu·tion

hostility and ill-treatment, especially because of race or political or religious beliefs.

Jesus sum logoI have been contemplating persecution. The “Western Church” is in the throes of change as persecutions of long-held truths are eviscerated in the Colosseum of public opinion.

SUMites, our marriages are sitting smack in the middle of this muddled and difficult social preponderance. We actively navigate our faith and those that are counter-beliefs within our home and before small eyes of impression.

My heart is greatly moved for each of you who must stand alone against an onslaught, torrent of words, falsities and then face your children and gently share Biblical principles. I have walked this path. Difficulty is our vocation but….. There is more at hand.

I listened this morning as I asked Jesus about the persecution. I asked, “How do I encourage my brothers and sisters on the path behind me? They are contesting increasing persecution of their faith more now today, than 12 months ago. How do I urge them onward in faith to realize that they are overcomers and strong enough to walk their marriage out without compromise?”

In that pristine moment, Jesus whispered, “Lynn, turn to Matthew 5. The Beatitudes are for my SUMite Church.”

WHOA!

Let me tell you what Jesus said to me about what persecution is developing in our life.

Vs. 3 Blessed are the poor in spirit.

“Lynn, you are learning that you can do nothing outside of Me. Your poverty of Spirit is actually riches in the Realm of God. For the “Poor of Spirit” have learned – Humility. Thus, my Beloved, yours is the Kingdom of heaven. It is your truest home.”

Vs. 4 Blessed are those who mourn.

“You have grieved over lost dreams in your marriage. You have cried tears of great sadness, petitioning heaven for the salvation of your spouse. You have mourned deeply the loss of years of joy and hope deferred. Your tears, each a precious jewel, saved in the bottles of heaven, bore testimony of your faithfulness to your husband, your family and especially to ME. Thus, my Beautiful Bride, Ye shall be comforted. Forever and ever and ever and ever and ever and ever. I love Thee!”

Vs 5. Blessed are the meek.

“You turned away from harsh words. You determined, hostility must fall by your side and you did not respond in wrath. You chose peace. You chose joy. You chose truth. You chose Me. Thus, You SHALL inherit the earth. Beauty, provision, family, tradition, home and happiness are yours, my Beloved.”

Vs 6. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness.

“Your Royal heritage is birthed out of a heart and hunger for more of Me. Your study of My Word. Daily meeting with Me in prayer for your family and this world. Your hunger to understand the secrets of the Kingdom of the Almighty. You have been a seeker. You have knocked on the door of understanding. You have asked the difficult questions and have determined not to settle for worldly wisdom but the wisdom of angels and saints. You have opened the gate to the Kingdom of God. Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. Thus, Prince/Princess of Royal bloodline, YOU SHALL BE FILLED.

Vs 7. Blessed are the merciful.

“For you have not responded in kind; hate for hate. Nay, you, offered love to anger. Hope to despair. Spoken life to the dying. Your heart has grown exponentially in gratitude and grace. You have opened yourself in the most, unkind of circumstances and displayed mercy to others. Even thouest do cause preponderance of the angelic as they marvel over the gentle and merciful heart of a maiden of God. THUS, you shall obtain mercy. You shall see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. You shall watch as your enemies are destroyed. Your legacy shall boom across the heavens.

“A LIFE WELL LIVED. A LIFE WELL LIVED…. A LIFE WELL LIVED.”

Vs. 8 Blessed are the pure in heart.

“Your years of torment, trouble, confusion and strife culminate in the most beautiful exchange of all that is holy. You have walked upon hallowed ground as you bring your fears before my throne. You have trodden the wine presses of wrath, tramping down words of pain, flung upon your soul. Yet your love for me and others… it did NOT FAIL. You have travailed in petitions and surrender. You determined to live in sacrifice and contrition. You turned your ear to me and chose life and truth over the lies of my enemy. You have practiced and lived out faithfulness, year after year, conflict upon conflict. Your faith and obedience has renewed all things of value in this life and the next. THUS, daughter of the Most High, ye shall see the face of God! Yea, thouest will behold HIS GLORY. You will see the future. You will be granted audience with beauty and rare purity. You shall see God!”

Vs. 9 Blessed are the peacemakers.

“In this life you GAVE. You presented your heart to Me and spent it upon others. Forsaken is selfishness and vain conceit and living for the promise of hope deferred, not fully knowing what awaits your eternity. My Glorious Bride, GREAT is your reward. The eternal is more than earthly words can contain. And in the place of self, I have poured out many blessings into your life, a foretaste of an eternity of your reward and My love. You created a more peaceful world for yourself and your family. You sewed in the nighttime hours, prayers of peace as well as warfare, the full ramification of your life impacts into centuries from now, thus is your legacy. You have given your heart to My Kingdom of Peace. You have aligned with the Divine and THUS you shall be called sons and daughters of God!”

Vs. 10 Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake.

“Persecution of your right-standing with God has lived within the very doors of your home. At every turn you faced decisions to love or hate, give or take, lie or truth, God or wrath. You have become joy bringers, truth tellers, powerful intercessors, prayer warriors, possessors of great wisdom. Your Spirit has developed endurance, persistence, faithfulness.

You are a person of character, intimacy, and resourceful. You are a leader, a strong voice of hope, a giver of time, possessions and prayer. You are a commander of angels and a writer of legacy. You are a strong person of faith and you have done well, My Bride. You have done so, very, well. THUS, YOURS is the Kingdom of heaven. Enter into the joy of the LORD.”

"I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” —John 16:33

        
 
 

Contact UsPast IssuesJoin This List

   

Email subscriptions powered by FeedBlitz, LLC, 365 Boston Post Rd, Suite 123, Sudbury, MA 01776, USA.