Bottom line: Coding, the Musical is a brand new app from TechSpaghetti that is designed to teach elementary aged kids the fundamentals of coding. Help your child lay the groundwork for more advanced coding and programming, all while having fun creating ...

Click here to read this mailing online.

Your email updates, powered by FeedBlitz

 
Here is a sample subscription for you. Click here to start your FREE subscription


"Educational Apps For Kids" - 5 new articles

  1. Review: Coding, the Musical is a great way to introduce kids to coding!
  2. Satisfy your sweet tooth at My Town: Bakery!
  3. Free App Friday - 26th January 2018 - including a National Geographic app!
  4. Top 40 Totally FREE Educational Apps on iTunes - UPDATED 19th January 2018
  5. Ahoy, matey! Let's go on a swashbuckling math adventure with Math Land: Arithmetic for kids!

Review: Coding, the Musical is a great way to introduce kids to coding!

Coding Four star

 

 

Bottom line: Coding, the Musical is a brand new app from TechSpaghetti that is designed to teach elementary aged kids the fundamentals of coding. Help your child lay the groundwork for more advanced coding and programming, all while having fun creating a musical. This app is free to download and try.

If you’d like to download Coding, the Musical, please use the handy link provided. The app is free to try, and additional worlds/stories are available with a subscription service ($7.99/one month, $34.99/six months, $58.99/twelve months)

Itunes link

 

 

Reviewer’s note: I was testing this app using a Testflight version of the app. All options of World 1 were open to me as if I had a full subscription. I’m not sure if all of the five worlds are already open with the subscription version, but if they aren’t yet they will be coming with future updates. Often I find that occasional blips that I run into in the Testflight versions of apps are corrected before release to the app store.

__________________________________________________________

NO Ads ExLinks YES IAP (1)

 

No ads, but there are in-app purchases for subscription service 

 

__________________________________________________________

Coding 2First off I have to admit something. I am a sucker for musicals of all kinds. So when I found out that I was getting to test an app that builds a musical, well I was pretty stoked. Coding, the Musical is an app that is designed to introduce elementary aged kids the basic concepts of coding. This reviewer found that, even though the app was written for elementary aged kids, even adults could learn  some of the essentials from this charming app.

This app is presented in chapters (or perhaps they are acts, since this is a musical) with each chapter introducing, or building onto, a new concept. In World One, we are introduced to arrays, for loops, directional functions, and Booleans.

First we help our young heroine (whose name I seem to have missed) design and update her house by giving kids options to choose from and putting them into an array. We get to help her build her garden in the same way.  As we move through the story, we get to direct where it will go by choosing things from presented options and putting them in order in an array to tell the app what to do.

Coding 1As we move forward in World One, we also get to work with directional functions that tell the app where to move in the story by, quite literally, pointing the way. We also get to use Booleans to determine the relationship between options or actions.

In the later worlds, the ideas being addressed will become more complex, taking users from simpler concepts like variables all the way through more complex things like databases. In the full app there are over 50 stories with 150 songs and 100 games. Each of these stories will be unique, driven by the user’s choices.

What I liked:

  • What a fun way to introduce coding to young kids! It is the foundation for much of our learning today.
  • There are almost endless options for building the story. I liked that the choices that you make follow you through the story.
  • Hello? MUSICAL!!

Coding 3What I liked less:

  • I found some of the motions in the app to be a little stilted.
  • I do think that there should be an option to skip through the song in each section if a child chose to. I mean, y’all know I wouldn’t, but I can see that upon repeated playthrough of the app a child might want to speed it up a bit and get to the story building.

Overall, I found this app to be a delightful introduction to coding for elementary aged children. By presenting the concepts in bright and appealing ways and wrapping them up in a story that kids can become invested in creating, the developer is ensuring that kids will remain engaged in the learning process. Four stars. 

 

***

 

ProfileKelli really feels like she missed her calling by not becoming a Broadway performer. But the rest of the world is missing nothing. Seriously. Smart Apps for Kids was paid a fee to review this app.

Satisfy your sweet tooth at My Town: Bakery!

My town bakery Four star

 

 

Bottom line: My Town: Bakery will help you find all the sweets you need for your My Town party! Your kiddo can bake up some cupcakes or decorate a cake to satisfy their virtual sweet tooth. The regular cast of My Town is all together to join in the fun!

If you’d like to purchase My Town: Bakery ($2.99), please use the handy link below so they’ll know how you found them.

Itunes link

 

 

 

_________________________________________________________

NO Ads IAP YES ExLinks

No ads or in –app purchases, but there are external links in protected parent areas.

 

_________________________________________________________

My town bakery 1My Town: Bakery starts off on the street in front of a bakery that is right next door to a pizza parlor (which makes the guy dressed up as a slice of pizza seem much less strange.) Through the window we can see a fancy cake. Let’s go inside.

Displayed on every surface are cakes and cookies and various other fancy pastries. Sweets are my weakness, so this would be torture (or heaven) for me if it weren’t virtual. Choose what you’d like to eat and then head to the drink bar to get a smoothie or a coffee before heading out to the patio to eat.

My town bakery 2Heading downstairs we will find the kitchen where all of these creations are made. Follow the recipe on the wall to mix up your batter, and then pour it in the magic oven. While it’s baking you can choose between multiple options to decide the finished product. Once your creation is finished you can send it upstairs to the shop in the fancy cake elevator (I need this in my house!)


Connected to the bakery is a pizzeria where you can create and cook your own pizza. Choose from a variety of veggies and other toppings to make your pie and then slide it in the oven until it is done. Upstairs we can go to the owner’s office/apartment where we will find a desk and computer but also a cool murphy bed for when you need to sleep. In the closet are a ton of great options for wardrobe changes.

My town bakery 3Outside you’ll find the entrance to a park where there is a fabulous party going on. Kids can play in the fancy tree house or build things in the sandbox.  There is a huge cake cut-out for fun pictures and a dj area with some carnival drums. And look! They’re serving all of the scrumptious goods from the bakery to eat!

This app has the same appearance and feel of the other My Town apps. There’s a reward system for finding hearts, tons of interactive elements, and multiple play areas. Since you can share the characters with your existing My Town apps, there are loads of townsfolks to play with. And depending on which apps you have on your tablet, there can be quite a funny variety available. While it’s true that each app on its own seems to have a pretty limited character set, you can expand your base with the addition of other My Town apps.

Watch this app in action here:

 

 

Overall, My Town: Bakery is the newest My Town app and it will make a fun addition to your app library, particularly if you are just starting. Four Stars.

***


ProfileKelli thinks it is too early to sign her son up for spring ball, but apparently she is wrong. Smart Apps for Kids was paid a fee to review this app in a priority manner.

     
 
 

Free App Friday - 26th January 2018 - including a National Geographic app!

FAFWe have a great list of apps that have gone free today including one by the National Geographic, a behaviour management app, a sentence building app, an AAC, storybooks, games, and more!

15 apps in total, with over $35 in savings!

Most of these apps are free ONLY UNTIL 10 p.m. (U.S. CST) on 1/26/18 so start downloading now!    

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 11.49.29 amGeoBee Challenge

$1.99 to FREE

This is a challenging game, so it's not for beginners...but do keep in mind that the National Geographic Bee is meant for kids in grades 4-8. Are you smarter than a 4th grader? If you need help studying, you should check out the National Geographic World Atlas HD app, also available on iTunes. Three types of game play make sure you really know your stuff and never get bored.

App Store

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 11.27.49 amLearn Colors App Shapes Preschool Games for Kids

$2.99 to FREE

Teaches color and shape recognition by combining exciting card matching game play with professional narration, fun music and positive feedback. It's fun and easy for kids to use.
• Match colors to colors
• Match colors to their name
• Match two different pictures with the same color

App Store

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 12.02.55 pmSCORE IT - Behavior Manager

$5.99 to FREE (iPad only - not available in all countries)

SCORE IT - Behavior Monitor is a research-based self-monitoring app that is changing student behavior one click at time. It is a simple, safe, and tested way for students and teachers to work together to improve students’ classroom behavior. It can be used in READ 180, SYSTEM 44, and iREAD classrooms or classrooms with instructional activities that include whole and small group instruction, independent work, and technology.

App Store

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 1.01.03 pmSweet Factory

$1.99 to FREE (iPhone only)

Enroll in the sweetest factory!

To keep your job: move quickly, stay focused, and whatever happens, don’t ruin the party!

App Store

 

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 1.08.51 pmWobbly Stack AR

$1.99 to FREE

Use your phone to twist, pull and push the Blocks to see how high you can build your Stack! Wobbly Stack is a fun and unique AR experience that can be played alone, with friends, as a party game, or just to kill time.
◆ Use your phone as a tether, with precise 1:1 control on the blocks
◆ 'Feel the blocks' with our Dynamic Haptic Feedback system
◆ Highly realistic physics engine running at 60fps

App Store

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 11.42.57 amSight Words Sentence Builder

$0.99 to FREE

Would you drive a car with a flat tire? Sight Words make up about 50 percent of regular English text. To become a great reader, a child must learn to automatically recognize Sight Words. Reading without this essential skill is as slow and frustrating as driving a car with a flat tire. This kid-friendly app trains children to quickly recognize all Dolch Sight Words and build sentences from them.

App Store

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 11.23.25 amiBasket Pro - Street Basketball

$2.99 to FREE

The best basketball game is here! With more game modes and challenges, iBasket is one of the most addictive basketball games of the moment. Get ready for the competition and demonstrate you're the king of the court! iBasket comes back refreshed with many new features. If you used to like it before, now you'll love it!  The mechanics of the game is very simple. You should try to score the maximum number of balls inside the basket at the proposed time.

App Store

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 12.07.04 pmTale of Tales 

$1.99 to FREE

It is an app designed for children to elicit creative play. Our goal with this was to create a story maker, and allow children to play with many characters: fairies, pirates, witches, gnomes...who blend together to create a different story each time. Kids will love to experiment all possible combinations (more than2000!) and play in an environment full of sounds, colors and interactions.

App Store

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 11.37.05 amI Click I Talk Single Student

$3.99 to FREE (iPad only)

I Click I Talk has several unique and critical features that are missing from competing augmentative and alternative communication AAC systems. 

I Click I Talk was created as collaboration between a computer scientist and a speech and language pathologist. They used a rigorous research approach during the design and the development of I Click I Talk.

App Store

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 11.58.43 amPepeLine

$1.99 to FREE (with in-app purchases)

PepeLine is a simple and very addictive 3D sliding puzzle game. Challenge your brain and swap the tiles with your fingers to recreate the path in order to solve each puzzle. Pepe & Line have been lost in a magical world. Help them find their way to get together and explore the variety of amazing natures in this unique game!

App Store

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 11.56.13 amPepeLine Adventures

$1.99 to FREE (with in-app purchases)

Let's begin a very exciting journey to help Pepe and Line meet again. Because of the wicked witch, they have been lost in a fairy world. PepeLine Adventures is the sequel to our hit game PepeLine and belongs to the genre of Pipeline Puzzle games. Yes, we know that there are tons of these games in the store, but PepeLine Adventures has 100% unique gameplay never seen before, plus beautiful 3D environment with 2 lovely characters (Pepe and Line).

App Store

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 11.51.32 amNumberShapes Whiteboard

$0.99 to FREE (iPad only)

Make numbers come alive with this outstanding classroom resource! Teach your favorite concepts with fun and interactive routines that bring students together.

Great for connecting to smart boards & projectors!

App Store

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 11.53.43 amCounting Marbles 

$0.99 to FREE

This app is best for ages 2-4 years old because it helps kids make productive use of their screen time. They can have fun learning to count for the first time by creating numbers from 0-20 in six different colors. Great for kids who like to play on their own or with a parent. This app also works without Wi-Fi and has no advertisements so your kids can play safely.

App Store

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 11.45.47 amPronunciation Dictionary for EFL KIDS

$2.99 to FREE

SBSP is a brand new dictionary, which focuses on English pronunciation. Learners can search for any word and listen to each syllable in the word. Furthermore, we examine five words every day with a review game. A word-card (clip) in the dictionary has syllables which are split, and blocked by circles.

App Store

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-26 at 11.31.01 amBrave Gueardians TD  (Rated 9+ yrs)

$1.99 to FREE (with in-app purchases)

Brave Guardians is an epic 3D action fantasy defense game that narrates the story of four heroes (Pepo, Tiko, Zagi & Rapu) -- each with extraordinary abilities. Be prepared for an epic journey to defend your world against nasty fiends. This time you will take control of the brave guardians to lead them to the victory. Because Brave Guardians is not just another Tower Defense game!

App Store

 

 

 

 

 

*********

 

Lisa SAFK

 

Lisa M lives in Australia with her four kids.  

Top 40 Totally FREE Educational Apps on iTunes - UPDATED 19th January 2018

1You love free apps that have no in-app purchases and so does the staff at Smartappsforkids.com. So here's a list of the current Top 40 most downloaded completely free apps (with no in-app purchases) on iTunes as of January 19, 2018.

You will find apps for babies, preschoolers, toddlers, students, educators and therapists — that covers 99.9% of our readers, so what are you waiting for?

 

11. Google Classroom

Classroom is a free service for schools, non-profits, and anyone with a personal Google account. Classroom makes it easy for learners and instructors to connect—inside and outside of schools. Classroom saves time and paper, and makes it easy to create classes, distribute assignments, communicate, and stay organized.

App Store

 

 

12. Nick Jr.

The Nick Jr. App brings your kids' favorite Nick Jr. characters to life in new interactive ways. Watch full Nick Jr. episodes for free and play fun educational games and activities with their favorite characters. The app is easy for preschoolers to navigate, so kids are just a fingertip away from all their Nick Jr. friends: PAW Patrol, Dora, Shimmer and Shine, Bubble Guppies, Team Umizoomi, Blaze, and more! 

App Store

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 11.33.10 am3. Play and Learn Science

Play with shadows, control the weather, roll and slide objects down a ramp, choose the best materials for an umbrella – all while building science inquiry skills and learning core science concepts. The games in the app encourage kids to see the science in their world. They are intentionally designed to serve as catalysts for real-world exploration by modeling real-world locations and experiences. The related hands-on activities and parent notes prompt families to “try it” at home and provide tips for engaging in conversations.

App Store

 

 

 

14.  PBS KIDS Video

The app provides a safe, child-friendly viewing experience for all ages. Kids can easily browse and watch videos at home, on the road, or anywhere with a 3G or WiFi connection. Every week, the app will introduce your child to a new “Weekly Pick,” a set of fun educational videos that will engage him or her in reading, science, math and more.  The app also includes features that parents can access by sliding the “i-bar” to the right.

App Store

 

 

15. Photomath - Camera Calculator

Simply point your camera toward a math problem and Photomath will magically show the result with a detailed step-by-step instructions. Photomath supports arithmetics, integers, fractions, decimal numbers, roots, algebraic expressions, linear equations/inequations, quadratic equations/inequations, absolute equations/inequations, systems of equations, logarithms, trigonometry, exponential and logarithmic functions, derivatives and integrals.

App Store

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 11.38.01 am6. PBS KIDS Games

Play over 90 free learning games with your favorite PBS KIDS characters anytime, anywhere. PBS KIDS Games features top shows, including Daniel Tiger's Neighborhood, Wild Kratts, Sesame Street, Super Why, The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That!, Dinosaur Train and more.  FREE games for kids 2-8 will be added all the time, encouraging your child to engage in skills related to science, math, creativity and more in gameplay alongside their favorite characters!

App Store

 

 

17.  Kids A-Z

The Kids A-Z mobile app delivers interactive learning content for Raz-Kids and Science A-Z anytime, anywhere. Kids can choose from a library of eBooks, eQuizzes, and other eResources to access on their own, or complete assignments scheduled by their teacher or parent. With the Kids A-Z app, personalized learning goes wherever the student does!

App Store

 

 

18. Khan Academy: you can learn anything (rated 12+ years)

Khan Academy allows you to learn almost anything for free. You can learn anything — for free: Over 10,000 videos and explanations at your fingertips in math, science, economics, history, and much, much more. Quickly find what you need: Redesigned navigation and search make it faster to find what you want.  Keep learning even when you’re offline.

App Store

 

 

19. Swift Playgrounds

Swift Playgrounds is a revolutionary new app for iPad that makes it fun to learn and experiment with code. You solve interactive puzzles in the guided “Learn to Code” lessons to master the basics of coding, while additional challenges let you explore code and create programs that are engaging and unique. Swift Playgrounds requires no coding knowledge, so it’s perfect for students just starting out, from twelve to one-hundred-and-twelve. 

App Store

 

 

110. GoNoodle Kids

GoNoodle Kids is the only app that gets kids MOVING along with crazy cool songs like Kitty High Five, Pop See Ko, Don’t Read Like a Robot, and so many more GoNoodle favs! Plus, GoNoodle Kids has simple mindfulness and yoga activities to help kids chill out, dude. Teachers in over 75% of US elementary schools love and trust GoNoodle to bring more movement and mindfulness to their school days. 

App Store

 

 

111. Toca Kitchen Monsters

Ever wanted to play with your food?

Now you can! In this Monster edition of the super-hit Toca Kitchen you can cook and play with food for two hungry monsters. Pick any ingredient and prepare it in your own way! Slice, boil, fry, cook, microwave or mix? And wait for the response from the hungry monster...

App Store

 

 

112. TED (rated 12+ years)

Feed your curiosity and expand your world with TED Talks. Explore more than 2,000 TED Talks from remarkable people, by topic and mood, from tech and science to the surprises of your own psychology.
・Browse the entire TED Talks video library, with subtitles in over 90 languages.
・Play on your device or send to your home entertainment system via AirPlay or Chromecast.
・Discover inspiring, funny, or jaw-dropping talks.

App Store

 

113Bible App for Kids

The Bible App for Kids is the newest member of the YouVersion family of apps. Available now for iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch, the Bible App for Kids is always completely free! Through interactive adventures and beautiful animations, kids explore the big stories of the Bible. The Bible App for Kids is a delight-filled experience designed to encourage kids to return again and again. It’s the beginning of a lifelong love of God’s Word.

App Store

 

 

114. Toca Hair Salon - Christmas Gift

Cut, color and style Santa Claus beard and hair! In this Christmas edition of the smash hit Toca Hair Salon, you can choose between styling Santa Claus or a funny Christmas tree! And best of all? It's completely FREE!

BONUS - Introducing: accessories! When you've finished cutting and color, add eight different accessories to your look. Loads of extra fun!

App Store

 

115. Laugh & Learn™ Where's Puppy's Nose? for Baby

Babies are immersed in an animated learning environment where their little finger taps, swipes, tilts & shakes teach all about body parts with two fun characters & music! Puppy and Kitty will teach baby about nose, ear, eyes, mouth, foot, tummy, hand & head! Designed for babies 6 mos. & up. Tap, tilt or shake the screen to interact with the animals. They’ll giggle or slide across the screen to delight baby!

App Store

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 11.51.25 am16. MarcoPolo Weather

Explore the fascinating world of weather! Create rainbows, thunderstorms, blizzards, and more as you learn about 9 major weather types. Have fun while learning – our “digital sandbox” design seamlessly blends education with engaging play.
Weather controls allow you to change atmospheric conditions such as temperature, wind speed, precipitation, cloud coverage and so much more. Every choice and combination creates a new weather experience!

App Store

 

 

 

117. iTunes U

iTunes U provides everything an instructor needs to bring the classroom together on iPad—build lessons with apps and your own materials, collect and grade assignments from students, discuss one-on-one or in groups, and annotate PDF assignments. iTunes U also allows anyone with an iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch to learn from the world’s largest collection of free education content—including public courses and collections from leading schools, universities, museums, and cultural institutions.

App Store

 

118. SpellingCity

VocabularySpellingCity is a fun way to learn spelling and vocabulary words by playing engaging games using any word list. The free app includes ten of our most popular learning activities and ten of our most popular word lists:

Spelling TestMe, HangMouse, Missing Letter, Alphabetize, Spelling TeachMe, Sentence Unscramble, Word Unscramble, Read-A-Word, Test-N-Teach.

App Store

 

119. Laugh & Learn™ Learning Letters Monkey App

A fun-filled learning app that features baby’s favorite Laugh & Learn™ characters! Babies are encouraged to interact with engaging animations, sing-along songs & sound effects. While this app is absolutely free and fun on its own, the app comes to life with the purchase of the Apptivity Monkey.

App Store

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 12.08.07 pm20. Articulate Mobile Player

Get the best e-learning experience available on your iPad with Articulate Mobile Player. Featuring an elegant, intuitive user interface, Articulate Mobile Player beautifully displays interactive e-learning content created in Articulate Storyline and Articulate Studio software. Tap, swipe, and pinch to interact with rich content, including full-motion video and software simulations.

App Store

 

 

 

 

 

121. Tinycards - Learn with Fun, Free Flashcards

Memorize anything while playing a game! Tinycards is a brand new app from the team behind Duolingo, the most downloaded education app in the world.  Have fun unlocking new levels and keeping your memory strength bar full while you learn. Tinycards uses spaced repetition and other smart learning techniques to help you remember new material.

App Store

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 12.11.33 pm22. The Great Kindness Challenge

The Great Kindness Challenge (GKC) App allows students, kindergarten through high school,to participate in the annualglobal kindness initiative calledThe Great Kindness Challenge. The Great Kindness Challenge is one week devoted to performing as many acts of kindnessas possible on campus. Join millions of students in promoting compassion, unity, acceptance, and respect. Let’s show the world that KINDNESS MATTERS!

App Store

 

 

 

 

123. ABC Alphabet Phonics - Preschool Kids Game Free Lite

Grasshopper Apps = Top Educational Apps for Kids :-)  Warning: Your child will keep begging for your iPhone or iPad after they try this app. Photo Touch is an exciting educational game that helps your child rapidly learn the ABC by sight, sound, and touch. The interface is so easy to use that even a 9 month old baby will delight in using this app. Ideal for ages 0 to 6.

App Store

 

 

124. Bloxels: Build, Play & Share Your Own Video Games

Build your own video games with Bloxels! The innovative video game creation platform makes concepting and execution easy. Watch your game world come to life as you create and animate play spaces, characters and objects because you are the artist, game designer, storyteller, programmer, publisher AND player! 

App Store

 

 

125. K.J.V. Holy Bible

The King James Version Holy Bible.

App Store

 

 

 

 

126. Toca Tailor Fairy Tales

Design and style your own clothes!

Time to get busy with those design skills! With Toca Tailor Fairy Tales, you can create, combine and style fun outfits for two characters in a beautiful Fairy Tale setting! Choose between lots of clothing designs, then tailor them by adjusting hems and lengthening sleeves.

App Store

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 12.23.39 pm27. Phonics Island, Letter Sounds games & Alphabet Learning - Preschool Kids Reading

Lay the basics of your child’s literacy skills with this colorful, mysterious island full of phonics sounds. Children learn and have fun tracing letters, recognizing letter sounds, matching letters, and identifying beginning sounds. Embark on the adventure with adorable Abby the Monkey and her train to discover the secret of this island! The best introduction to phonics reading system!

App Store

 

 

 

 

128. ShadowDraw

Have you always wished you could draw better but never found the time? Can you only draw stick figures? ShadowDraw is the easiest way to learn how to draw with your iPad and Apple Pencil. Rediscover your creativity and learn to draw great art in minutes. Designed to work best with the Apple Pencil and iPad Pro. It's perfect for beginners and coloring book lovers! Improve Your Drawing Skills - Beginners Welcome!

App Store

 

 

129. Toca Dance Free

Create your own dance routines with the free version of Toca Dance!
Become the choreographer and create moves with three fun characters: Sahar, Märta and K-Boy. Jump, shake and strike a pose — this is Toca Dance Free! Take on the role of the choreographer and have your dancers mirror your every move. Once you’re ready and you’ve got the moves down pat, it’s time to send your team to the stage!

App Store

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 12.28.53 pm30. Sushi Monster

Meet Sushi Monster! A game to practice, reinforce, and extend math fact fluency is completely engaging and appropriately challenging.

Strengthen reasoning strategies for whole number addition and multiplication by helping monsters make a target sum or product. Earn points with each correct answer… but watch out for distractions! To be successful, plan ahead and strategically select numbers from the sushi counter.

App Store

 

 

 

131. My Math Flash Cards App

My Math Flash Card App is for mastering basic elementary math facts. Its an easy to use and customizable application to enable focused learning. Some of the salient features are -
- Addition, Subtraction, Multiplication and Division Cards
- Randomly generated Flash Cards
- Help
-Customize to focus mastering a particular fact like Addition by 2 or subtracting by 2.
- Simple sound effects to provide feedback

App Store

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 12.42.35 pm32. ScratchJr

By snapping together graphical programming blocks, children can make characters move, jump, dance, and sing. In the process, children learn to solve problems, design projects, and express themselves creatively on the computer. They also use math and language in a meaningful and motivating context, supporting the development of early-childhood numeracy and literacy. With ScratchJr, children don’t just learn to code, they code to learn.

App Store

 

 

 

 

133. PBS KIDS ScratchJr

With PBS KIDS ScratchJr, kids can create their own interactive stories and games featuring their favorite characters from Odd Squad, Wild Kratts, Nature Cat, Arthur, WordGirl, Peg + Cat, and Ready Jet Go! The storytelling possibilities are endless with this creative coding app for children ages 5-8.

App Store

 

 

134. Moose Math - by Duck Duck Moose

Moose Math engages kids in a mathematical adventure and teaches counting, addition, subtraction, sorting, geometry and more. While playing 5 multi-level activities in the Moose Juice Store, Puck’s Pet Shop and Lost & Found, kids can earn rewards to help build their own city and decorate buildings. Moose Math introduces a new whimsical group of Duck Duck Moose characters, The Dust Funnies, who help with mastering math skills.

App Store

 

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 12.50.39 pm35. Win the White House

Running for the presidency isn't easy! In Win the White House, manage your very own presidential campaign by debating your opponents, strategically raising funds, polling voters, launching media campaigns, and making personal appearances. Keep a close eye on the map as you battle for electoral votes. Played 3.5 million+ times on iCivics.org, this NEW and IMPROVED version of Win the White House includes all new ways to put your stamp on your campaign.

App Store

 

 

 

 

136. Toca Doctor HD Lite

Let your kids be a doctor for a day! Examine a patient and solve fun puzzles and mini-games that take place in the human body. Beautiful artwork and fun sounds guides your kids through 5 different puzzles! Toca Doctor is a fun and puzzling digital toy for kids. Examine the patients and play puzzles and mini-games that take place in the human body. There are no timers or stress elements so that kids can play in their own time. If they can't finish any certain game it still continues so that they never get stuck. It always works and it's always fun!

App Store
iPad
App Store
iPhone

 

 

 

 

137. Sesame Street

Come spend time on Sesame Street with video clips and games featuring Elmo, Cookie Monster, Abby Cadabby, and more of your favorite, furry friends. Sing along with Sesame Street music videos, learn your ABCs and 123s, and just have fun! Instantly watch Sesame Street clips and play fun, educational games all for FREE anytime, anywhere.

App Store

 

 

138. Daniel Tiger for Parents

Daniel Tiger for Parents empowers parents and caregivers with songs and videos from the hit PBS KIDS series Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood.

Is your child learning about sharing? Struggling with trying a new food? Working on what to do with mad feelings? Daniel Tiger for Parents has a song for these important social-emotional skills – and many more of life’s little lessons!

App Store

 

139. Words With Friends EDU

Words With Friends EDU builds off of the engaging gameplay of Words With Friends, with new educational features to help students learn high value academic words – words that are used frequently in required reading, textbook and assessments. For students, there are new vocabulary bonuses, badges, and avatars that make learning fun. For teachers, there’s a new suite of tools that track what students are learning as they play.

App Store

 

 

140. Math Cards ! !

Math Cards ! ! is a great way to learn and practice addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division. Customize your own problem sets to focus on your needs. Set the top numbers and bottom numbers for each operator.
Lite Version Features:
1) Choose from the following operators: +, -, x, ÷
2) Set the top and bottom addends for addition
3) Set the top and bottom numbers for subtraction
4) Set the top and bottom factors for multiplication

App Store

 

 

 

***********

Lisa SAFK

 

Lisa M lives in Australia with her four kids.

 

Ahoy, matey! Let's go on a swashbuckling math adventure with Math Land: Arithmetic for kids!

Math land Four star

 

 

Bottom line: Math Land: Arithmetic for kids takes your child on a swashbuckling adventure to save the islands from a curse placed by an evil pirate. Kids must help a young pirate find all of the missing jewels by solving math problems along the way. Ahoy, matey!

If you’d like to download Math Land: Arithmetic for kids ($1.99, or FREE version available with IAP), please use the handy links provided.

Itunes link
FREE

 

 

 

 

App Store
$1.99

 

 

 

 

Google

 

 

 

________________________________________________________

NO Ads IAP YES ExLinks

In the full version of this app there are no ads or in-app purchases, but there are external links.

 

________________________________________________________

Math land 1Math Land: Arithmetic for kids takes us on an adventure to save the islands from an evil pirate. Along the way we must collect coins and solve math problems to earn spyglasses and find jewels. This app has eleven different language setting and multiple levels of play based on age and difficulty desired. In the full version of the app, there are twenty-five islands waiting to be saved by our trusty little pirate friend and we must help him along the way. Practice your addition, subtraction, numbering, multiplication tables, and division and help save the islands by breaking the spell.

The onscreen controls feature a directional compass that you use to control our hero’s motions and a jump button to help him get over obstacles. Along the way you will also need to smash a few things, and normally you can do that by tapping them directly when they are highlighted. To move from island to island, you will have to have spyglasses. And throughout each island there are treasure coins to collect that can be play each level of the math zone to earn the necessary spyglasses.

Math land 2As we start on each new island, we must find the wise man and solve his riddles (math problems) in order to earn a key. Sometimes there are additional feats to be done (more math!!) to overcome other obstacles in the game. You could be solving a simple math equation or calculating the trajectory needed to throw a rock and hit a carnivorous plant. You just never know. Eventually, we must find the treasure chest and use the key to open it to release the jewel that saves the island. Each new island appears to be a bit more advanced than the last, with new skills being introduced along the way. Complete all twenty-five islands to conquer the evil pirate’s spell.

What I liked:

  • I liked the variety of math skills that can be practiced with this app.
  • I liked that this app has multiple levels of difficulty. This would be great for families with multiple children or for a classroom setting.

Math land 3What I liked less:

  • I found the controls fairly difficult to get used to. I had trouble keeping the little pirate going in the right direction all of the time. My finger/thumb kept sliding too far off the directional compass.
  • I wish that there was a way to set up multiple accounts. I find that my kids get frustrated when trying to share an app that the other is completing different levels on (or, even worse, spending their coins!)

Overall, I found Math Land: Arithmetic for kids to be a nice app for practicing a wide range of math skills. I did find that the controls were a bit tedious, which caused some frustration along the way.  I’m giving this app a 4-star rating.

***

Profile

Kelli is wishing that she had stock in Purell. Smart Apps for Kids was paid a fee to review this app.

     
 
 

Click here to safely unsubscribe from "Educational Apps For Kids."
Click here to view mailing archives, here to change your preferences, or here to subscribePrivacy